What We Missed While Hiking in the Dark…

You miss a lot of scenery when you hike in the dark, as I mentioned in yesterday’s post. Dan wanted me to write more about the descent of that hike, which was one of his favorite parts of our trip to Colorado, so I promised that I would share more with my readers in a gallery.  In hindsight, I wish I knew more about my camera so that I could have captured some dark shots in the first part of the hike.  But, alas, readers will have to stay tuned while I learn how to use my camera just a little bit better.  All shots are taken with my Cannon PowerShot S110, a point-and-shoot with a lot of room for customization in both the shutter speed and the lens (not that I know how to do either; I just play around with things to see what happens).  Imagine our surprise at finding these postcard-ready shots on the trip down the mountain; we couldn’t stop talking about the whistling marmots, the hawks and falcons flying overhead, and of course, the incredible length of the trail we had just climbed.  We even heard a rattlesnake–and took off down the trail soon after.  Sorry, folks; I have no desire to capture images of dangerous animals.

Next up? A review of Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park, and some tips on what to do and where to go when you plan your Colorado summer vacation.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Creative Commons License
What We Missed While Hiking in the Dark… by Katie Piper Greulich is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at apiedonfoot.com.

2 thoughts on “What We Missed While Hiking in the Dark…

    • Thanks, Kate! The design is actually a wordpress customizable design; the header image is mine. Thanks for visiting! I haven’t forgotten about “and that’s when I realized…” 🙂

Leave a Reply

